Welcome to Downes
Downes is the family home of Henry and Susan Parker and their children Redvers (born 1992) and Stroma (born 1995). Henry Parker's family have lived at Downes since it was built in 1692. The attraction of the house is that it brings together aspects of the history of our country (particularly as the home of the famous General Buller) and the history of a family home, still privately occupied and loved by its owners, some 300 years after it was first built. It is hoped that visitors will appreciate the opportunity to share this special place.
The house is now open to the public on Mondays and Tuesdays.
The house is open to the public for guided tours at 2.15pm and 3.30pm on Mondays and Tuesdays from 01 April to 02 July and again for the August bank holiday on 26 and 27 August 2013.
Children (5-16 years) £3.50
Groups (over 15) £6 each for adults, £3 each for children (must be pre booked)
Downes has been owned by the same family for over 300 years
Moses Gould was a prosperous Exeter merchant who purchased the Downes Estate in 1692, his family having lived at Dunscombe, nearby, since the early part of the century. He built himself a more substantial dwelling at Downes, which still forms the core of the present house.
Downes is particularly associated with General Sir Redvers Henry Buller
Sir Redvers Henry Buller, whose memorials in Crediton and Exeter illustrate the standing in which he was held and many of the documents in the archives at Downes give testament to this.